Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Hartford Courant Databases: Home

Information about the content of the three Hartford Courant databases

Hartford Courant Databases (Requires a Hartford Public Library card to access when not at a library location.)

Hartford Public Library provides access to the Hartford Courant in three separate databases: 

 

Hartford Courant (1764--1996) 

Contains PDF images of every page in the newspaper. Includes photos, advertisements, and obituaries. 


 

Hartford Courant (1992--today's issue)

Provides only the full text of articles. Does not include photos or advertisements. Does contain obituaries, but the obits maybe abbreviated. Note: To read the newspaper issued on a specific date (including today’s) click here and choose the date of the issue you wish to view. 

 

Hartford Courant (2008—approximately two weeks ago)

Contains PDF images of every page in the newspaper. Includes photos, advertisements, and obituaries. Note: It typically takes about two weeks after an issue is published for it to be scanned and entered in this database.

 

Hartford Courant (1764--present): You can search all three databases at once by clicking here.

 

Hint: To find an obituary Click on Advanced Search and change the Document type to Obituary before doing a search on the name of interest.


Hartford Public Library 

Central Branch:  500 Main Street. Hartford, CT 06103 
Phone: 860-695-6300 | Text: 860-530-4376 | Email: contactus@hplct.org | Chat: www.hplct.org
For Branch locations and hours, click here