LibGuides: Summer Reading 2024: History Resources/Recursos sobre historia/Recursos de história

Hartford History Center

Hartford History Center Digital Collections (No Library Card Needed) This link opens in a new window
Thousands of images and media from the Hartford History Center collections, including Hartford-specific resources from 1639 to the present, preserved and made available in the Connecticut Digital Archive.
No library card needed

The physical Hartford History Center houses books and documents on Hartford History, in addition to rotating exhibitions.

We are currently open by appointment at our Ropkins Branch.

1750 Main Street
Hartford, CT 06120

Please Email or call to visit
860-695-7520 | hhc@hplct.org

Hartford Public Library Through History

Join our 250th Birthday celebration by going back to live through the library's journey from 1774 to 2024.

Explore books through a timeline, look at pictures of our buildings and events through out the years, and learn how you can join in on the fun all on our HPL @ 250 website.

Library Databases on History

Connecticut State Library Digital Collections (No Library Card Needed) This link opens in a new window
Includes links to collections of Connecticut newspapers from the 1800s, the State Archives, the State Library Collection, and the Museum of Connecticut History
No library card needed

World Book This link opens in a new window
An engaging, verified, and trustworthy digital resource for grades pre-K through high school.
No library card or student id needed when accessing on a Hartford Public Library computer or using the library’s wi-fi.
Hartford Public Library card or Hartford Public School id number is needed to access:
For six-digit student ids: 22520000 + student id (22520000######)
For five-digit student ids: 225200000 + student id (225200000#####)
For teachers and staff ids: 225200+network id (225200########)

History Reference Source This link opens in a new window
Covers U.S. and World history
Access in Hartford: no library card number or student ID needed
Access outside of Hartford: Hartford Public Library card or Hartford Public School ID number is needed:
For six-digit student IDs: 22520000 + student ID (22520000######)
For five-digit student IDs: 225200000 + student ID (225200000#####)
For teachers and staff IDs: 225200 + network ID (225200########)

Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Information on famous and noteworthy people
Access in Hartford: no library card number or student ID needed
Access outside of Hartford: Hartford Public Library card or Hartford Public School ID number is needed:
For six-digit student IDs: 22520000 + student ID (22520000######)
For five-digit student IDs: 225200000 + student ID (225200000#####)
For teachers and staff IDs: 225200 + network ID (225200########)

Hartford Courant: 1764--present This link opens in a new window
Search the Hartford Courant databases for current and historical articles, including obituaries.
No library card or student id is needed when accessing on a Hartford Public Library computer or using the library’s wi-fi.
Access outside of the library requires a Hartford Public Library card or Hartford Public School id number:
For six-digit student ids: 22520000 + student id (22520000######)
For five-digit student ids: 225200000 + student id (225200000#####)
For teachers and staff ids: 225200+network id (225200########)

Black Freedom Struggle in the United States (No Library Card Needed) This link opens in a new window
Documents covering African American history
No library card needed

Referencia Latina This link opens in a new window
Spanish-language database with content covering a broad array of subjects
Access in Hartford: no library card number or student ID needed
Access outside of Hartford: Hartford Public Library card or Hartford Public School ID number is needed:
For six-digit student IDs: 22520000 + student ID (22520000######)
For five-digit student IDs: 225200000 + student ID (225200000#####)
For teachers and staff IDs: 225200 + network ID (225200########)

Ancestry.com (In Library Use Only) This link opens in a new window
Features the U.S. Census and other genealogy records from both the United States and countries around the world
Can only be accessed on a library computer or using the library’s Wi-Fi

Connecticut Genealogy Index
(No library card needed)
Basic index to birth, marriage, civil union, and death records from 1890s to 2010s (depending on the type of record). Once you confirm that a record exists, you can request a copy either from the municipality where the event took place or from the state directly.

Outside History Resources

The Digital Public Library of America amplifies the value of libraries and cultural organizations as Americans’ most trusted sources of shared knowledge. It has online, free collections on many topics.

Our national Library has many historical resources that are free to access.

Access our National Archives for information like:

Discover great history resources and events at the Smithsonian Institute's Website

The National Gallery of Art's Website houses a project tackles the issue of "Uncovering America" in a variety of topics including:

Videos on different aspects of history.

U.S. History

World History I

World History II

Black American History

Big History

European History

History of Science

Access the PBS digital collection on U.S. History for information and resources on a variety of topics organized by subject.

Ken Burns for the classroom provides educational videos and other media

Visit the Historic New England Website for resources, events, and information about preserving our history.

Zinn Education Project
Started to further the reach of the work of "Historian of the People," Howard Zinn, this project collects information and activities on overlooked stories of history.

Topics Include:

Through rigorous historical analysis combined with the study of human behavior, Facing History’s approach heightens students’ understanding of racism, religious intolerance, and prejudice; increases students’ ability to relate history to their own lives; and promotes greater understanding of their roles and responsibilities in a democracy.

The Center for Racial Justice has free resources and information on racial justice in our country

Center for Racial Justice free educational resources

Visit their website to learn about LGBTQ+ History including:

Access the online resources and information on the history of the Asian-American experience

Discover information about the history, present, and future about Native American Communities.

Kanopy Kids This link opens in a new window
(Accessible with Hartford Public Library card. If using a Hartford Public School ID number, click more for further instruction.)
Animated movies and TV series, such as Sesame Street, for both recreational and educational viewing.
If using a Hartford Public School ID Number:
For students: enter your student ID (lunch number) with no changes
For staff and teachers: use your network ID with no changes
Kanopy This link opens in a new window
(Accessible with Hartford Public Library card. If using a Hartford Public School ID number, click more for further instruction.)
Critically acclaimed movies, documentaries, and foreign films. Use 15 tickets per month to watch movies, TV shows, and other videos.
If using a Hartford Public School ID Number:
For students: enter your student ID (lunch number) with no changes
For staff and teachers: use your network ID with no changes

Mission US, a multimedia history education organization, has created video games that allow users to play through different periods of history including:

For Crown or Colony lets you play through 1770 as Nat Wheeler, a 14-year-old apprentice in Boston. As tensions rise among Patriots, Loyalists, and others, can you decide where your loyalties lie? Play online or download the iPad app.
In A Cheyenne Odyssey the year is 1866, and you are Little Fox, a Northern Cheyenne boy. Can you help your tribe survive life on the Plains?
City of Immigrants lets you live as Lena Brodsky, a 14-year-old Jewish immigrant from Russia in 1907. How will you start a new life in America?
In Prisoner in my Homeland you are 16-year-old Henry Tanaka in 1941. When the government forces you and 120,000 other innocent Japanese Americans into camps, how will you react?
No Turning Back explores what it'd be like to be 16-year-old Verna Baker, born and raised in the Mississippi Delta. As you move to the city of Greenwood to start high school, in 1960 a movement for civil rights is gaining momentum. How will you take part in the struggle for freedom and equality?

They also have educational resources including primary sources and additional activities and information about the different historical periods.