Hartford Research
The collections listed below are among those held by the Hartford History Center at Hartford Public Library. Both primary and secondary sources are included. No two collections are the same; the quality, quantity, formats, and accessibility of each collection varies greatly. Please contact us if you have specific questions about any of these.
Our online catalog contains records for all of the books held by the HHC, as well as our periodical collection, some of our manuscript collections, and a number of photographs. For more in depth information regarding our manuscript collections, please visit our finding aids page. Our photographs may also be accessed via the Connecticut Digital Archive.
hhc@hplct.org 
860.695.6297
Portion of a deed, Hartford City and Town Clerk Archives
| Annual Reports |
| Board of Charity Commissioners |
| Board of Finance |
| Board of Fire Commissioners |
| Board of Health |
| Board of Public Works |
| Board of Street Commissioners |
| Board of Trade |
| Budget |
| Charter revision |
| City and Town Clerk archives |
| City Manager |
| City Treasurer |
| Commission on the City Plan |
| Department of Housing |
| Department of Parks and Recreation |
| Department of Planning and Economic Development |
| Department of Social Services |
| Engineering Department |
| Financial reports |
| Fire Department |
| Journal of the Board of Aldermen |
| Journal of the Court of Common Council |
| Juvenile Commission |
| Municipal Art Society |
| Municipal codes |
| Municipal Library and Rent Commission |
| Municipal register |
| Police Department |
| Public Welfare commission |
| Redevelopment Agency |
| Urban Research Committee |
| Water Commission Board |
| Yearbook |
Colt Park Band Shell, 1921
| Barnard Park |
| Batterson Park |
| Bushnell Memorial Hall |
| Bushnell Park |
| Cemeteries |
| Charter Oak Park |
| Charter Oak Terrace |
| Churches |
| Colonial Theater |
| Colt Park |
| Elizabeth Park |
| Goodwin Park |
| Hartford Atheneum Lyceum |
| Hartford Civic Center |
| Keney Park |
| Keney Tower |
| Park River |
| Park River Conduit |
| Parson's Theater |
| Pope Park |
| Riverside Park |
| Riverview Towers |
| Rocky Ridge Park |
| Village Street Green |
Dwight School, 1907
| American School for the Deaf |
| Annie Fisher |
| Barbour |
| Bulkeley |
| Capital Community Technical College |
| Charter Oak State College |
| Clark Street |
| Connecticut Common School |
| Hannum's Hartford Business College |
| Hartford Academy of Business |
| Hartford Architecture Conservancy |
| Hartford Art School |
| Hartford Ballet Co. |
| Hartford College of Law |
| Hartford Female Seminary |
| Hartford Graduate Center, The |
| Hartford Institute of Accounting |
| Hartford Institute of Criminology Inc. |
| Hartford Public High School |
| Hartford Public Schools |
| Hartford Secretarial School |
| Hartford Seminary Foundation |
| Hartford Seminary Foundation |
| Hartford Technical Institute |
| Hartt College of Music |
| Herzfield School of Dancing |
| Holcomb Street School |
| Home Contractor's Institute |
| Huntsinger's Business College |
| Julius Hartt School of Music |
| Kingswood School |
| Mary Ward Secretarial School |
| McKeown Secretarial School |
| Miss Draper's Seminary |
| Morse College |
| New England Technical Institute |
| Oak Hill |
| Our Lady of Sorrows |
| Oxford School |
| Porter School of Tools and Machine Design |
| Quirk Middle School |
| Rawson School |
| Remington Experimental School |
| Sarah Shipman Estlow School of Dance |
| Ward Technical College, University of Hartford |
| Weaver High School |
| Shanti Alternative School |
|
South Arsenal Neighborhood |
| Southwest School |
| Trinity College |
| University of Connecticut, Hartford Campus |
| University of Hartford |
| Vidil-Rock School of Modern Languages |
| Washington Street School |
| Watkinson School |
| West Middle School |
Hartford Public Library
Central Branch: 500 Main Street. Hartford, CT 06103
Phone: 860-695-6300 | Text: 860-530-4376 | Email: contactus@hplct.org | Chat: www.hplct.org
For Branch locations and hours, click here.