Hartford Research
The collections listed below are among those held by the Hartford History Center at Hartford Public Library. Both primary and secondary sources are included. No two collections are the same; the quality, quantity, formats, and accessibility of each collection varies greatly. Please contact us if you have specific questions about any of these.
Our online catalog contains records for all of the books held by the HHC, as well as our periodical collection, some of our manuscript collections, and a number of photographs. For more in depth information regarding our manuscript collections, please visit our finding aids page. Our photographs may also be accessed via the Connecticut Digital Archive.
hhc@hplct.org 
860.695.6297
Hartford actress Gwen Reed
| Athanson, George A. |
| Berkman, Florence |
| Bonee, John L. |
| Brooks, Faye Fish |
| Crockett, John |
| Davis, Malcolm |
| DeBonee, Tony |
| Fuoco, Rob |
| Greggon, Robert |
| Hamersley, William J. |
| Hausman, Norm (Bulkeley Stadium) |
| Hewins, Caroline |
| Hinds, Boyd |
| Hobby, Josephine S. |
| Holcombe Collection |
| Kidney, Phillis |
| Lowry, William J. |
| Mahoney postcard collection |
| Mahoney, David C. |
| Martin, (Constitution Plaza) |
| Maxim, Hiram Percy |
| McNulty, Henry |
| Mele, Olga |
| Murphy-Boyle family |
| O'Fiara, Sylvan |
| Parsons Collection |
| Radcliffe, David |
| Reed, Gwen |
| Regis, Marc-Yves |
| Roberts, W.A. |
| Robinson Collection |
| Robinson, Henry C. (Mayor) |
| Sigourney, Lydia |
| Steele, Bob |
| Steincrohn, Peter J. |
| Stoeckel, Herbert |
| Trahan, Joseph |
| Tucker, Thelma |
| Twichell, J.H. |
| Uccello, Antonina |
| Walden, Stanley |
| Wallace, Stuart |
| Ward, Kenneth |
| Webster, Noah |
| Weinberg, Elbert |
| Welles, Gideon |
| Wells, Horace |
Royal Typewriter Plant
| AAA Hartford |
| Acorn Club of Connecticut |
| Aetna Insurance |
| Allyn House |
| American Asylum of Deaf and Dumb |
| American Red Cross Hartford |
| Bachelors Club of Hartford |
| Belknap and Hamersley |
| Boston Symphony Orchestra (in Hartford) |
| Burr Fund Memorial |
| Business and Professional Women's Club |
| Capitol Region Planning Agency |
| Center City Churches (Hands on Hartford) |
| Charter Oak Study Club |
| Choral Club of Hartford |
| Citizens' Network of the Capital Region |
| City of Hartford |
| City Parks |
| Civitan |
| College Club of Hartford |
| Colonization Society of the State of CT |
| Community Council of the Capitol Region |
| Community Renewal Program |
| Connecticut Bank and Trust Co., The |
| Connecticut Bible Society |
| Connecticut Center for the Book |
| Connecticut Commission on the Arts |
| Connecticut General Life Insurance Co. |
| Connecticut Humane Society, The |
| Connecticut Mutual Life Insurance Co. |
| Connecticut Natural Gas Co. |
| Connecticut Opera |
| Connecticut State Society of the Cincinnati |
| Connecticut Watercolor Society |
| Cricket Hall of Fame |
| CRT |
| Diocesan Bureau of Social Service |
| Dollarhide |
| Elks Lodge No. 19 |
| G. Fox & Co. |
| Grand Old Army |
| Gray Lodge Shelter |
| Greater Hartford Chamber of Commerce |
| Greater Hartford Council of Churches |
| HARC |
| HART |
| Hands on Hartford (Center City Churches) |
| Hartford Architecture Conservancy |
| Hartford Audobon Society |
| Hartford Ballet |
| Hartford Board of Education |
| Hartford Citizens' Assembly |
| Hartford City Guard |
| Hartford Community Development Credit Union |
| Hartford Conservatory |
| Hartford Dispensary |
| Hartford Downtown Council |
| Hartford Family Service Society |
| Hartford Foundation for Public Giving |
| Hartford Hospital |
| Hartford Jewish Community Center |
| Hartford Junior Ballet |
| Hartford Library Association |
| Hartford Medical-Dental Society |
| Hartford National Bank and Trust |
| Hartford Oratorio Society, The |
| Hartford Parks |
| Hartford Public Library history |
| Hartford Rotary Club |
| Hartford Stage |
| Hartford Steam Boiler |
| Hartford Symphony Orchestra |
| Hartford Times |
| Hartford Tuberculosis and Public Health Society |
| Hartford Union for Home Work |
| Hartford Urban League |
| Hartford Woman's Club |
| Hartford Young Men's Institute |
| Historic Hartford Committee |
| Institute of Living |
| Italian Mothers Club |
| Jefferson House |
| Kellogg Concert Course, The |
| League of Women Voters of Hartford |
| Mark Twain Masquers, The |
| McCook Hospital |
| Metropolitan District Commission |
| Missionary Society of Connecticut |
| Mount Sinai Hospital |
| Musical Club of Hartford, The |
| New England Blizzard |
| Northwest Child Welfare Club, The |
| Old State House |
| Open Hearth Association |
| Phoenix Mutual Life Insurance Co. |
| Pilgard Company |
| Real Art Ways |
| Retreat for the Insane |
| Riverfront Recapture |
| Royal Typewritter |
| Saint Francis Hospital |
| Smith Edwards |
| Sons of Temperance |
| Southend Community Services |
| Southside Media |
| Travelers Aid Society |
| Travelers Insurance Co. |
| Twilight Club |
| United Way Community Council of the Capitol Region |
| United Aircraft Corporation |
| United Technologies Corporation |
| Urban League |
| Veteran City Guard |
| Visiting Nurse Association |
| Wadsworth Atheneum |
| West End Civic Association |
| Western Hill Organization |
| Women in Crisis |
| YMCA |
| YWCA |
Morgan G. Bulkeley, Voter Registration Card
| Climatological data |
| Hartford architecture |
| Hartford Circus Fire |
| Hartford neighborhood reports |
| Hartford social services (Trecker Library, UConn School of Social Work) |
| Hartford Street Railway |
| Hartford Voter Registration records |
| Hartford zoning |
| Sheff vs. O'Neill |
| Street Lighting in Hartford (HeL Co.) |
Hartford Public Library
Central Branch: 500 Main Street. Hartford, CT 06103
Phone: 860-695-6300 | Text: 860-530-4376 | Email: contactus@hplct.org | Chat: www.hplct.org
For Branch locations and hours, click here.
